Reviews

Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I had never been to York before and we chose the Sycamore for it’s location in relation to the city centre - it was a 5-10 minute walk which was perfect for us.As well as enjoying the city, the staff, Spyros and Elizabeth, were fantastic and always made sure we were happy with our stay.As well as their excellent customer service, they had excellent knowledge on what attractions to visit and how to get to the places and, the distance/timing it takes to get to each place.

Response

Dear Ellie.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..All The best,Elizabeth

Reviewer:Ellie I | Wed 5th Sep 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

A delightful stay. Family is friendly and welcoming. Rooms are cosy and have everything you need. Breakfast is huge and delicious. Location is perfect. Beautiful and very quiet, 10 minutes from centre through The Museum Gardens. Station is very close too. Highly recommended ... and we travel a lot!

Response

Dear Gary.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you\'ll be back to see us again..Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Gary F | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 3 weeks ago


. - Rating 4/5

Loverly stay , comfy bed and tasty breakfast

Response

Dear Mr. Smith.Thank you for your review.We appreciate you taking the time.Looking forward to see you again sometime in the future.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Steve S | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Excellent- Rating 4/5

Had a very comfortable stay here at the Sycamore.Bed very clean and comfy. Great location for walking in to the City. Breakfast delicious. Hosts were so welcoming and helpful. Tea &coffee in room was great. Will definitely be returning and would highly recommend.

Response

Dear Emma.Thank you.We appreciate your taking time to write a review.It means a lot to us.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Emma M | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Another very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We have now stayed at Sycamore House lots of times and always enjoy our stay very much. Rooms are always lovely and the breakfast is delicious. Also in a great location with a short walk into the town through the park or along the river.We will definatly be returning soon.

Response

Dear Jennifer.Thank you for the kind feedback on your stay with us .I\\\'m so pleased that everything was just as you would have wanted it to be.It\\\'s great to know that The Sycamore was such a great base for you to explore our fantastic city.It is always lovely to see you both and we hope you\\\'ll be back to see us again..All the best,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Jennifer H | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome by our host Elizabeth. The room was very comfortable, with everything one needs on such a stay. Breakfast was very good and served in a very friendly athmosphere. The guesthouse is really just a short walk away from the city centre, so it was a perfect choice in every way. Thank you Elizabeth and Spiros!!!!!!!!!!!

Response

Dear Susanne,Thank you for your great review, it was pleasing to hear how much you appreciated our hospitality.It is always a pleasure to serve such warm people as yourselves;we hope that you will make areturn visit next time you come to York.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Susanne L | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 month ago


Great location, friendly hosts - Rating 5/5

Sycamore Guest House is well situated in York and an easy walk from both the train station and to the city center. Breakfast is great and the hosts are friendly and helpful. Highly reommended.

Response

Dear Daniel.Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.Best regards,Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Daniel G | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


Sycamore Guest House - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 3 days in York, staying at the Sycamore Guest House. Had a lovely welcome, and the room was great, plenty of cupboard space, light and airy, with an en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was very good, and always served with a smile. I'd certainly stay here again.

Response

Dear Peter,Thank you, we appreciate your taking time to write a review.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.All the best ,Spyros and Elizabeth.

Reviewer:Peter B | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 11 months ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay, room was clean and comfortable. Hosts were extremely helpful and accommodating, especially with regards to car parking. Would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Reece C | Fri 19th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Mr George Swan - Rating 5/5

This is the third time at the sycamore its a clean and peaceful guest house the owners can't do enough for you and we can recommend it if you require a quiet bed &breakfast this is the one for you.

Response

Dear Mr. And Mrs.Swan.It is always a pleasure to have you staying with us.We thank you for your comments and the recommendations.Have a lovely Christmas.Elizabeth and Spyros.

Reviewer:Mr. George S | Tue 20th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Stopped for a long weekend while visiting York.Easy walk into York nice and peaceful stay.Excellent breakfastWill visit again many thanks

Response

Dear Mr.Mark Cassidy.Thank you for your lovely comments .We\'re delighted that the Sycamore provided you with such an ideal base and that you enjoyed our hospitality.I do hope you will have the opportunity to come to see some more of York and to stay with us again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Cassidy| Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Peaceful - Rating 4/5

Perfect safe/quiet location for a pleasant 10 min walk into central York, local street parking. Been using Sycamores for quite a number of years, value for money and breakfasts that are memorable, strongly recommended. Elizabeth &Spyros are warm and welcoming

Reviewer:Mr. Allan D | Fri 7th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Hadrian!Rocky! - Rating 4/5

Wonderfully located near center York.Delightful proprietors.Bathrooms were a little cozy.

Reviewer:Mr. Brent H | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


We stayed for five days......... - Rating 5/5

.........and we had nice days, good food, helpand service with heartly smiles.This is the third time we have stayed in the clean and cosy Sycamore House.And we hope to come back again !

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Margrete W | Fri 13th May 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent base for York and surroundings - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome. Excellent friendly service.Easy walk into the centre of York (10 minues) and easy route out of York on A19 to ring road and beyond.

Reviewer:Dr. John W | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Can't fault,ten mins walk into York.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Reynolds| Wed 30th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Credit card
  • Parking facilities
  • Family rooms
  • City centre
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Gay friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • City breaks

Contact Details

Sycamore Guest House
19 Sycamore Place
York
Bootham
Yorkshire
YO30 7DW
01904 624712
01904 677913
thesycamoreyork@gmail.com